You do not want your iPhone to fall into the wrong hands since it contains a treasure trove of personal information such as images and videos as well as passwords and ID proofs, bank details, personal chats, messages, and contacts, among other things. That is why you choose to permanently erase data and settings from iPhone before selling or giving it away to others to protect your privacy.
However, there are several iPhone recovery software programs available that can effortlessly retrieve erased data from an old or unused iPhone. As a result, there is always the possibility that someone may retrieve your iPhone’s data and utilize it for malicious purposes.
So knowing how to permanently erase data and settings from iPhone is critical.
Fortunately, there is an answer to disable the ability of any software to retrieve deleted data from your iPhone using this method.
What is the best way to permanently delete data from your iPhone?
Manual deletion is one method of removing data from a system. However, iPhone capabilities such as restoring ‘Recently Deleted’ or using a recovery program may readily retrieve the deleted data.
Finally, restore the iOS device to its factory settings. After data removal, your iPhone can no longer access it. However, this does not remove your data from your iPhone’s storage.
Employ professional erasing software to completely erase iPhone data. These data erasers do this job by overwriting all of the information stored in the device’s memory. After which you can’t recover it.
Methods for wiping off everything on an iPhone
Reset all of the data and settings on your iPhone (data gets inaccessible but recoverable)
Use iPhone data erasing software such as Stellar Toolkit for iPhone. (it eliminates all data from the iPhone, making it unrecoverable, be it iPhone 9 to iPhone 14).
Method 1: Reset all of the information and settings on your iOS device
Apple offers a factory reset capability in the iPhone, which includes the option to ‘Erase All Content and Settings.’ Using this approach, you may restore your iPhone to its factory settings by deleting all of the data on the device.
Apple’s factory reset will completely erase all of your iPhone’s data, including all of its settings, passcodes, photographs, videos, notes, contacts, call history, messages, search history, applications history, and other information.
However, deleting your iPhone with the ‘Erase All Content and Settings’ option does not completely remove all of your data from the device. All of your personal information on your iPhone may still be recovered with the aid of a sophisticated iPhone data recovery program.
The following are the steps to factory reset your iPhone:
- Go to the Settings app on your iPhone.
- Tap and drag to move. Reset the system by selecting General > Reset.
- Select Erase All Content and Settings from the drop-down menu.
- When a dialog box displays, choose Erase Now from the drop-down menu.
- When asked, enter your Passcode as well as your Apple ID password. Apple’s iPhone will be fully erased and turned off as a result of this.
Your gadget is now ready to be used as if it were brand new, with no personal images, movies, or other information on it.
How do you permanently erase data so that it cannot be recovered iPhone?
For this purpose, here comes method 2.
Method 2: Using Stellar Toolkit for iPhone, permanently erase all data from the device
When you wish to completely wipe iPhone data that cannot be recovered by any recovery program, you should use an iPhone erasure tool such as Stellar Toolkit for iPhone.
Apple’s factory reset option does, however, give a window of opportunity for iPhone data recovery via the use of the software. The Stellar Toolkit for iPhone program, on the other hand, permanently resets the iPhone.
The app overwrites the iPhone data on the storage disk, erasing it and restoring the device to its factory default settings.
There is no way to retrieve data from the program under any circumstances.
Personal settings, photographs, videos, audio, music, contacts, messages, chats, installed applications, call history, reminders, search history, and other data from your iPhone may be easily deleted.
Apart from that, the toolkit is also capable of recovering lost or deleted data from numerous data loss scenarios, such as a water-damaged or broken iPhone, a phone that has been frozen at the Apple logo, and so on.
- Wipes iPhone data permanently
- Erases data from multiple unique iPhones
- Compatible with all iPhones and iPads
How do I completely empty my iPhone storage?
Following are the seven steps to empty your iPhone storage.
- Download and run Stellar Toolkit for iPhone on your computer.
- Select Erase Data.
- Erase the iPhone Data screen appears. Click Next.
- Plug your iPhone into the computer when prompted.
- Click Erase.
- An Erase Process dialog box appears. Select Yes to start the erasing process on iPhone. You can view the process progress bar.
- Once the process finishes, the ‘Data Erase Completes’ message box appears. Click OK.
Your iPhone has now been completely erased, including all of your personal information, passwords, and settings.
When should you use software to wipe data from your iPhone?
Your information is very sensitive and may be easily misused by a third party. As a result, before transferring ownership of your iOS device to a new user, it is best to thoroughly wipe it clean so that no one can retrieve it.
You can use an iPhone erasure software such as Stellar toolkit when you are,
- Selling an old iPhone
- Exchanging an old iPhone with a new one
- Donating an iPhone to someone
- Fixing technical malfunction in your iPhone
In situations when you want to be fully certain that your iPhone data privacy is protected, Stellar Toolkit for iPhone comes to your aid.
If you need to use your iOS device as if it were brand new, give it away, donate it, or resell it, you must use the erasing program to completely erase all of the data on it. It is completely safe and simple to use as well.
Stellar Toolkit for iPhone is available for download here as a free trial.
To fully delete everything from your iPhone on your PC, follow these steps.
If you want to do the operation on a computer, you may use iTunes to assist you. Even if your iPhone is disabled or frozen, factory resetting it via iTunes may still be an option to save it.
However, you must trust this computer at least once before iTunes can identify your iPhone.
- Download the most recent version of iTunes and then connect your iPhone to your computer using a USB cord.
- When the device icon displays in the upper-left corner of the window, select it by clicking it.
- Select Restore iPhone from the drop-down menu to completely erase all of your iPhone data.
What is the best way to remotely wipe an iPhone if it has been lost?
What happens if you do not have your iPhone in your hand? When your iPhone is misplaced, you may utilize Find My iPhone to locate it and either recover it or wipe it.
- Start by going to icloud.com in your web browser.
- Sign in with your Apple ID and then click Find iPhone from the menu bar.
- Go to Devices and then choose the misplaced iPhone.
- Select Erase This Device from the drop-down menu and then click Erase this iPhone.
You may need to clean the data off your iPhone for a variety of reasons, and this section has provided you with many different methods for doing so on your iPhone. Even if you lose your iPhone, you can still do so.
As a professional iPhone eraser, a Stellar Toolkit is an excellent option.
We hope you found this guide on how to permanently erase data and settings from iPhone helpful and if you liked what you read, don’t forget to share this guide with your friends, colleagues, and family so that they also know how to permanently erase data and settings from iPhone when the times come.
Does factory reset delete all data on iPhone?
The answer is yes; it will delete all of the information saved on your iPhone, including applications, contacts, call logs, notes, and other information, among other things.
Furthermore, PhoneRescue for iOS maybe you’re the best option if you need to recover lost data from your iPhone after it has been reset to factory settings.
Does erase all content and settings delete everything?
It is important to note that when you choose to Erase All Content and Settings, your device is fully erased, including any credit or debit cards you may have entered for Apple Pay as well as any images, contacts, or music, or applications. It will also disable services like as iCloud, iMessage, FaceTime, Game Center, and other similar programs.